Halls of Residence

The Seminary believes in community life as an essential part of ministerial training of the student. It is therefore primarily residential, providing accommodation in Halls of Residence and nearby private Hostels. There are four (4) halls of residence which are available to students. These have been named after former Heads of Churches: Odjidja Hall (for men), Galevo Hall (for men), Grant Hall (formen) and the Megill-Baeta-Jiagge Hall (for women). Each Hall is managed by an Executive Committee comprising members elected by students belonging to the Hall. The Master (or warden in the case of Ladies Hall) is the Head of the Hall. Grant and the Ladies Halls have common rooms for students and Faculty, respectively.

Odjidja Hall

THE ODJIDJA HALL is one of the Halls of residence on campus. It was originally christened HALL ’A’ but the Board of Governors of the Seminary (formerly the College) decided to rename the hall after the original signatories of the Agreement that set up the Seminary at the present location. Therefore, Hall ’A’ was renamed ODJIDJA HALL after the late Moderator, Very Rev. E. M. L. Odjidja of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana.

Galevo Hall

By 1986/87 academic year, the then Trinity College had three halls of residence. The faculty in consultation with the Board of Governors agreed to name the three Halls after the heads of the three founding Churches of the College. Prior to its present name (GALEVO HALL), it was called Hall B. It was renamed GALEVO HALL; after the late Rt. Rev. Galevo, the then Moderator of the Evangelical Presbyterian Church, Ghana.

Grant Hall

The GRANT HALL is the third of the Halls of the Seminary to be built. The hall was built in quick response to the residential needs of a group of students from Trinity College, Umuahia, Nigeria, a sister Seminary that was threatened by the Nigerian Biafran war in 1970. The World Council of Churches (WCC), seeing their plight, airlifted the students - some to Ghana and others to Sierra Leone - to complete their studies.

In 1988, the Hall was appropriately named after the late Most Rev. Dr. Francis C. Ferguson Grant, who was the first African President of the Ghana Conference of the Methodist Church. Until 1996 when the Christian Council of Ghana put up a hall for the ladies, Grant Hall housed the ladies of the Seminary. 

Megill-Baeta-Jiagge Hall (Ladies Hall)

The epoch-making decision to admit women for training was on the 2nd of February 1977 by the Board of Governors After this historic meeting the 1977/78 academic year saw the admission of the first batch of women. A temporary accommodation was sought at Mempeasem, a nearby village. Later on, when the number of the female students increased, they were housed at the outhouse of both the old and new Principal’s bungalow. As time went on, the ground floor of the Grant Hall was refurbished to serve as the women’s hostel in anticipation of a permanent female student’s hostel. With the help of the Christian Council of Ghana, the proposal for a permanent female students’ hostel received the attention of the Christian Council of Ghana and its overseas partners in 1991 and 1993. With the assistance of Bread for the World of the World Council of Churches (WCC), the construction of the hostel began in June 1995 after a sod-cutting ceremony on the 17th June 1995; it was completed and handed over to the Seminary on 31 st August 1996.

This February

School Re-Opens Fri. 1st Feb
Lectures Begin Mon. 4th Feb
Human Resource Committee Meeting Wed. 6th Feb
Trinity Rally Sun. 17th Feb
Finance & Dev. Committee Meeting Wed. 13th Feb
Senate Meeting Wed. 20th Feb
SRC Week Mon. 25th Feb - Fri. 1st March
Governing Council Wed. 27th Feb

Locate Us

Trinity Theological Seminary

No. 7, Trinity Avenue, East Legon.

Accra, Ghana

P. O. Box LG 48 Accra


The Seminary has progressed from being a semi-autonomous Institution affiliated to the University of Ghana, Legon, to being an Institution fully accredited by the National Accreditation Board of the Ministry of Education and subsequently granted a Presidential Charter to award its own degrees, diplomas and certificates.